Fair Pay to Play Act

Discussion in 'Around the League' started by seadawg, Sep 12, 2019.

1. seadawg

seadawg Well-Known Member VIP Member

Money:
    $4,367
    This California bill could very easily change the face of the NCAA in the next 3 years? It passed 100% in favor.

2. seadawg

Money:
    $4,367
    I was hoping for some spirited debate since "fair pay to play" is likely to be signed by Gavin Newsome. It does have national implications. Specifically, what are pros and cons concerning BU?

3. Jared Grubbs

Jared Grubbs Administrator Staff Member

Money:
    $16,010
  4. Jared Grubbs

Money:
    $16,010
    I actually read most of the bill a little while back. I’m not a lawyer, but it seemed to me to indicate that not only can players not be prohibited from receiving endorsement money, but that there can be no limitations on it. This is something the NCAA simply can’t adopt IMO. You might as well fully open it up and directly pay players because anyone could pay any player and simply call it endorsement money.

I would actually see it as a valid business opportunity in some cases. Imagine a business that makes it known that they give a 500k endorsement deal to every IU player? That’s going to be a very popular business in the state of Indiana, and for the right business could be well worth the 6.5 million investment per year. Or choose whatever number you want. I could even see this even opening the door for actual crowdfunding campaigns to help recruit players as well.

I have no problems with giving athletes more money, but there has to be more restrictions and regulations around it. I’m sure that’s a big reason they simply don’t allow it at all, because that’s the easiest way to restrict it and they don’t want to open up even more loopholes.